Crisis at the Records Office

“And you are?” the clerk asked without looking up.

“Well,” Karl said, “that’s an interesting question. I mean, my name right now is Karl Apel. That’s Karl with a K, of course. But I’m here for a name change, because I don’t like my name. So am I still Karl? Is my legal name my only name? Is a rose still a rose if it’s not called a rose? These are the questions I’ve been asking myself lately, you know?”

“Mmhm. I getcha. But your legal name right now is Karl Apel? K-A-R-L, A-P-L-E?”

“A-P-E-L, actually,” Karl said.

“Okay. Here’s your number. Take a seat over there, and please sort out any existential issues prior to being called by the next available agent. Next please.”

Karl stood and went to sit in the waiting area.

Leave a Reply

