April Fool’s

Golden stood up from her desk and looked around. “Everyone,” she announced. “I have an announcement to make.”

Golden waited while her workmates finished what they were doing and gave her their attention. When she saw all eyes on her, she said, “One year ago, I started working here. It’s been a wonderful year. I’ve grown, as a person and as a worker. I feel more knowledgeable, and I know that will only continue. I love coming in to work with you all, each and every day.

“But there’s something I need to confess. My name is not actually Golden. It’s Anne.” She paused while murmurs ran through the room. When it was quiet again, she continued.

As you know, it’s April Fool’s Day. And for the past year, I’ve been holding out, for the greatest April Fool’s Joke I’ve ever pulled. It’s been difficult, and I almost gave it away a few times. But I did it.

“I’d like to thank Managers Dave and Ardith, and the good folks over in payroll for not giving me away. So with that, ladies and gentlemen, all I have to say it…APRIL FOOL’S!” Golden – now Anne – laughed, and sat back down.

Around her, people started whispering, wondering whether her probationary period was over.

3 thoughts on “April Fool’s

Leave a Reply

