Christmas Cheer

“What the hell?” Moira said, staring at the plant on her doorstep.

“What?” asked Nila.

“What is that thing?”

“It’s a pointsettia, I think,” Nila said, crouching down to look at the plant. It had bright red leaves over top of the green, with a shiny red foil around the pot underneath. “Hmm, yup, definitely pointsettia.”

“Gross. Who would leave this here?” Moira said, nudging it with her foot.

“I dunno. Postman? Did you order one? Maybe kids who want to spread some Christmas cheer?”

“Ugh.”

“I see it’s spread to the wrong person.”

“No no, I like Christmas cheer. Or holiday cheer, or Diwali cheer, whatever, but – ”

“Diwali was like, a month and a half ago.”

“Whatever. But I hate these things, they look so dumb and are so annoying. And they’re poisonous!”

“Well, if you don’t want it,” Nila said, still examining it up close, “I’d be happy to take it with me.”

“It’s all yours.”

“Thanks! Free pointsettia for me. Just you wait, next year this thing will be huge and beautiful and you’ll want it back.”

“Never.”

“Oh, you will.” Nila gathered the plant in her arms. “Shall we? With a stop at my place?”

Leave a Reply

