A Mole

“Boss?”

“Come in, Garth.”

“Ma’am, I wanted to talk to you about something.”

Mia took off her glasses and set them on the desk in front of her. “Sure, do you want to shut the door?”

“Okay,” Garth turned, closing the door carefully behind him before sitting down. “Ma’am, I don’t want to alarm you, but I think we have a mole.”

“A mole?”

“Yes ma’am. I’m sure you’ve noticed, we’ve been in the papers a lot lately. Information from my department seems to keep making itself out there.”

“Yes, and?”

“And I think someone is leaking it.”

“Hm. Even though most of those things in the press have actually been press releases, you think this is still a mole?”

“Yes, well, I mean, they just seem to know a surprising amount, you know what I mean?”

“Garth, you do understand, we’re actually releasing the information as our clients want it released. This is isn’t insidious or anything. This is all intentional.”

“Right, but – “

“It’s not a mole, Garth. It’s just us putting information out, as we’re supposed to. We’re a communications company.”

“Okay, but I just…I dunno. It seems suspect.”

“Tell you what, why don’t you keep an eye on it, and make sure it’s only the correct information getting out there. Document anything you think is suspect, and when you reach a critical mass, bring it to me, okay?”

“Okay, boss. Thanks for listening.”

“Any time, Garth,” Mia put her glasses on, and looked back to her computer.

Leave a Reply

