Carbs and Carbs

Elma’s favourite vegetable was the potato.

She ate potatoes for every meal – mixed with other foods, of course, to keep her nutrition levels balanced – and savoured them in all their forms. Baked, mashed, hashbrowns, french fries…any way you could prepare a potato, Elma loved.

So when David suggest she go carb free, Elma scoffed.

“No, David. Potatoes are basically pure carbs. I mean, other stuff, but if I were to go carb free, I’d have to go potato free, and I’m unwilling to do that.”

“Oh, just try it Elma. It might be good for you!”

“David, if I needed to go carb free, I’d do it. But I – ”

“You haven’t even tried!”

“I don’t want to!”

“But you might need to!”

“If I needed to, I’d probably be dead by now. Do you know how many carbs I have through the day? A lot. Too many, probably. So to go from that many, to nothing, would be too much of a shock to my system. Can’t do it, sorry.”

“But Elma, I – ”

“No, David. You don’t tell me how to live my life, and I won’t tell you how to live yours.”

“But you do tell me how to live mine. Like, every day you tell me to do things.”

“Okay, fine. But I’m keeping my carbs.” Elma turned away, finishing the conversation. She used her fork to spear another potato, jamming it in her mouth.

Leave a Reply

