Basically

“Titus!” Kelly said, surprised. “I’m so glad you could make it, come in!”

Titus stepped in and closed the door behind him. “Thanks Kell. Sorry I’m late, I got caught up in chores, and the next thing I knew…”

“Oh, tell me about it. But no worries, we only just started appetizers.”

She led him up the stairs to the living room. “Titus is here everyone,” she announced. People murmured in polite appreciation as Titus came into view.

“Hey guys, long time no see,” he joked. There was polite laughter before the room returned to its previous conversations. Titus spotted his boss and walked over. “Dorothy, how was the drive home? A bit slushy out there.”

“It is, yeah. I got home all right, and back in here though.”

“Great. Hey, I’ve almost got those reports done for you, too, just so you know.”

“Very good. But no business talk here, Titus, we’re socializing.”

“Oh, right, sorry.”

Titus walked over to the appetizer table. He scanned the offerings, then said, “Hey Kell?”

“Yes?” Kelly said, after breaking away from a conversation.

“Hey, do you have anything gluten free here?”

“Gluten free?”

“Yeah. I’m basically celiac, so I need some gluten free food.”

“Oh, well, I’m not sure. I mean, the quiches might be gluten free, but I don’t know.”

“Really? Come on, Kell, if I eat them and they are gluten, I could, like, die or something.”

“Well, sorry Titus, I didn’t know. You never mentioned it before.”

“I don’t like to talk about it too much, it’s kind of embarrassing, you know?”

Kelly looked around. “Hmm, well, let’s see…I could make up a vegetable tray from the fridge or something, if you want.”

“Sure, if you don’t mind. What’s for the main course?”

Kelly looked distraught. “Lasagna.”

“Oh, I love lasagna! Is it homemade, or one of the ones from the store? Because I think they use a pasta with very little gluten in the store ones, so I’m usually okay with those, even though I’m basically celiac.”

Kelly pursed her lips, then said, “Uh, it’s a store one.”

“Great. And dessert?”

“I made a chocolate cake. And don’t worry, it’s basically gluten free.”

“Oh, cool, that sounds great Kell. I’d even suffer through the results for your delicious chocolate cake.”

Kelly smiled, and said, “Okay, I’ll go make up that veggie tray for you.”

“Could you? Thanks, Kell. You’re the best.”

Titus turned away and looked for a conversation to join.

Leave a Reply

