Pfeffernusse!

“Pfeffernusse! Pfeffernusse!” Teo crowed from his seat at the kitchen table.

“What are you going on about, Teo?” Faye asked, putting dishes in the dishwasher.

“I want pfeffernusse!” he said, trying to climb off the chair. His tiny legs dangled over the side, and finally, in the fearless manner of children, he let go, only the thump to the ground, cushioned by his bum.

“What? You mean perfume? I have a bit upstairs.”

Teo stood and set his hands on hips. “Moth-ER. Not perfume. Pfeffernusse! I want pfeffernusse.”

“I’m sorry dear, you need to give me a bit more than that. I don’t understand what you’re asking about.”

Teo rolled his eyes and walked toward the hall. When he reached the threshold, he turned back to his mother. “You’re supposed to know everything! When you figure it out, let me know, and we can go get some. Until then…pfeffernusse!” With that, he ran off.

Faye heard her son thumping up the stairs, then pulled out her phone and started searching.

One thought on “Pfeffernusse!

  1. Hi Martin! Just letting you know I’ve nominated you for a Sunshine Blogger Award. I’ll be writing a post about it on my site soon. It’d be great if you could participate, but don’t feel obligated. Thanks for your great stories and have a nice day 🙂

Leave a Reply

