Resolutions

“What’s your resolution?” Desiree asked, propped up on her elbows.

Greg’s eyelids opened slowly, sleep’s glue holding them against his will. “Hm?” he grunted, pulling the sheets up over the chill on his bare torso.

“Your resolution! For the new year. Me, I’m going to go to the gym, and be more giving with what I have.”

His eyes now open, Greg looked at her and smiled.

“Not like that, you perv!” She smacked his arm. “I mean, helping people. Being good. What about you?”

“I dunno. I hate these things, I’m not going to make a resolution.”

“No, come on, you have to!”

Greg pulled his body up, and pushed the pillows behind him to support himself. He leaned back, now half-sitting. “Why do I need to make some promise that I’ll keep for like, two weeks, then go back to being myself? It’s just dumb.”

“No, we’re going to keep it up all year. We’ll be resolution buddies.” Greg grinned at her, and was opening his mouth when she interrupted him. “No! I’m being serious, stop making it all about sex.”

Greg sighed. “Fine, then no, I’m not going to make one.”

“Come on! We’ll keep each other doing them. Please?”

“No. It’s a dumb tradition, and I don’t want to.”

Desiree harrumphed, throwing her head down on the pillow and turning away.

“Oh, don’t be like that.”

“Like what?”

“All huffy.”

She rolled back over and looked at him. “I’m trying to get us to do something meaningful, Greg. I want to have something more than you buy me dinner and take me to bed.”

“Oh, now, come on, it’s hardly like that. We do all kinds of stuff. We go to shows, and movies, and watch things at home.”

“Well, it kind of feels like that’s all we have. You take me out, then take me home. I want to have a thing we work on together, through the year. Unless you don’t think this will last the year.”

“I mean, I don’t know if it will or not, we can’t say that, but – hey, where are you going?”

Desiree was already up and pulling on her clothes. “Tell you what. When you figure out if you’d like it to last, you give me a call. Happy fucking new year.” She left, slamming the bedroom door behind her.

Greg heard the main apartment door slam a moment later. He reached for his phone to send an apologetic text, then stopped himself. He got out of bed and went to the bathroom to shower and think.

Leave a Reply

