With Regrets

“Hey Pamela, it’s Mena. I just got your message. So sorry I couldn’t be there last night to help with the dress picking. I hope you found the right one!

“Unfortunately, I don’t think I’ll be able to get away the weekend after next. Or any weekend, really, in the next few months. Things at work are swamped, and they have us running overtime like it’s our job. Well, okay, I mean, it is. Sort of. You know what I mean.

“Anyway, I guess I can’t make it to Arcadia Planitia, but you enjoy your crazy Martian wedding. I’ll be here in the Mons dome slaving away, and you’ll be off with Dave – still super weird, by the way, you two getting together. He was such a creep on the shuttle here. But that’s in the past, you obviously love him. So you two have fun, and enjoy the vices of Arcadia. Try not to spend your whole life’s savings! Though I guess we’ve only been here a little over year, and I don’t think anyone’s pay is that good. Except some of the black marketeers I investigate, those guys are just…wait, I’m doing it again, aren’t I? Sorry.

“Okay, have fun, good luck, and I’ll see you when you get back, I guess! Happy wedding!”

Leave a Reply

