Sponge Cake

“What are you doing?” Amelia said, her mouth agape. She stood in the doorway wearing a tank top and pajama shorts, toothbrush in hand.

“What do you mean?” Eldon asked from the sink, still in his day clothes.

“I mean, what are you doing with the cake?”

Eldon lifted one hand from the sink. It was covered in yellow crumbs. His other hand brought a bowl, dotted with yellow. “I’m cleaning the dishes.”

“With cake?!” Amelia’s eyes widened further.

“Well, you said it’s sponge cake. I thought you meant it was for cleaning. Like, where sponges come from.”

“Eldon, no, that was for the neighbours’ birthday party tomorrow morning! I need to make another cake now! And you think sponges come from sponge cake?”

“Well, initially from the ocean floor, but I thought this was how they made artificial ones. By baking.”

Amelia stood sputtering for a moment, then put her face in her hands. “Eldon, dear,” she said, raising her face again. “It’s a good thing you’re cute. Why don’t you head to bed, I’ll deal with this. Then we’ll have a long talk about cake types and cleaning products.”

Eldon shrugged. “Okay. I was just trying to help.”

“I know, sweetie. But I have make another cake now, so you go read.”

Eldon shrugged again, then walked toward the bedroom. Amelia gave him a kiss in passing, then set to work mixing up a new cake.

Leave a Reply

