It’s Okay

“Is everything okay?” Danielle asked, setting her coffee down.

“Yeah, it’s fine, thanks,” Kalika said, wiping her eyes.

“Are you sure? It doesn’t look okay.”

“No, it’s fine, it’s nothing. Just stupid things, is all.”

“It’s not stupid if it’s bothering you, Kali,” Danielle reached across the table and took her friend’s hand. “You can tell me, it’s okay.”

“No, it’s just work. I was given a bad report by my boss.”

“The one that’s always picking on you?”

“Yeah, him.”

“What an ass. You should tell his boss about all your problems.”

“No, it’s fine, really.” Kali slipped her hand friend and raised her mug to her lips. She sipped slowly, trying to force the tears to stay down.

“Look, this gives you everything you need. Walk into his boss’s office and tell them all the crap you’ve suffered under him.”

“I guess I should. Maybe I will. Maybe tomorrow. I think today I just need to go watch something mindless.”

“Okay, let’s do that.”

“Thanks, Danielle.”

“Any time, Kali. Any time at all.”

Leave a Reply

