Fear of Heights

“I don’t like heights at all,” Mark said, as they boarded the ferris wheel. “I’ve never been on a ferris wheel before…”

“It’ll be fine, I’ll be there. Let’s go! Besides, you don’t want to look like a whimp in front of your students, do you?” Hannah laughed.

“No, I guess not.”

The ride started and he gripped the bar, like he knew he shouldn’t be doing this. She set her hand on his, comforting them as their cart lifted into the air.

“So, what are you going to do tomorrow?” Hannah asked, trying to distract him.

“Umm, I’m not sure…probably do some more work fixing up my bike, and maybe read a bit.”

“That sound like a nice day.”

“Yeah, it’s a good book. I’ve read it before, but I wanted to re-read it.”

“Oh nice, I think I’d like to read that when you’re done,” Hannah noticed Mark’s grip was relaxing, and he was breathing a bit slower.

“Sure! Also, I know what you’re doing, and it’s working well, thanks,” Mark smiled.

“Yeah, I figured you could use some distraction. And now look, you’re fine.”

“Well, still mildly disturbed, but I’m better than I was.”

They looked across the ride, and saw Anne and Jared in another seat, waving as they passed out of view.

“They look like they’re having fun,” Hannah said. “You must have been a good teacher, for them to want to see you during the summer.”

“I don’t know about that. Adequate maybe, but they probably just think I’m weird enough to be entertaining.”

“Naw, they wouldn’t want to see you if you were only entertaining. They liked you, and clearly thought you were a great person.”

“Maybe, I guess,” Mark replied.

The ride slowed to a stop, and they stood to get off. Mark breathed a sigh of relief. “I did it!” he cried.

“Good job!” Hannah replied. Anne and Sheila exited a moment later, and walked toward the rest of the midway.

Leave a Reply

